Day 10: colour for the CAL blanket – update

A while ago I agonised for ages over the colours for this blanket, in the end I decided & even posted about the colour scheme. Ordered the yarn. It arrived.

“ooh”, thinks tilliemint, “that’s more browny beigey colours than I remember including, ho hum.”

Also, I counted the balls & there are 14 & I’m SURE I decided to order 12 colours. Hmmmmm.

Anyhoo, in a burst of efficiency I decided to get all the yarn into my ravelry stash before I started using it & it got too late (cos that’s never happened before, oh nooooo)

I got in a bit of a muddle about the colours so I went back & found the email confirming the order from the wool store (actually, http://www.woolwarehouse.co.uk).

Now here’s the thing.

I spent a while deciding which yarn to order, I was caught between DROPS Karisma & DROPS Lima. In the end, it got late & I needed some sleep so …

I popped 1 colour of each yarn into my shopping basket, saved the basket & went to bed.

A few days later I went back to the basket, decided to go with DROPS Karisma as it has a better range of colours, spent aaaaaagggggeeeeessssss matching the colours with the scheme I wanted to use (see previous post), ordered the 12 colours I’d decided I was allowed (me & 6’s) paid for them, sat back to wait for a woolgasm to arrive in the post.

Spotted it?

Yup. The 2 balls I’d popped in the shopping basket to remind me which 2 yarns I was deciding between were still in the basket. 

So I have a ball of DROPS Lima in a lovely purple, which is absolutely fine as I’m all about DK weight socks now I have some nice 3.75mm & 4mm dpns (same order – I really went to town!) so that’s lined up for that, although of course 1 ball won’t be enough …

And I’m about the check that order again to see which of the 13 shades of Karisma I’ve got wasn’t actually meant to be there (one of the browny beiges, I hope!)

-x-

Leave a comment